How do I install Complete Time Tracking Professional?

  1. Download and install the server software on one computer (known as the server). This can either be a dedicated server computer (such as an existing mail server or web server, or a new server) or a user computer that is centrally accessible and always on when people need to use the product. Do not install on a network drive as the central access uses a direct network connection to the program and not a file share.
  2. Note the server host name and IP address(es) displayed during the server installation. If you forget the name or IP address run the Complete Time Tracking Professional Server Details tool on the server computer.
  3. Download and install the client software on all other computers (known as clients).
  4. When users run Complete Time Tracking they will be presented with the login window. Inform them of the name or IP address of the server to enter when logging in for the first time.

How is the database shared in Complete Time Tracking Professional?

A special Windows service application is installed on the server computer that listens for connections from client computers across the network. A TCP/IP connection is established from the client (user) computers to the central server computer using port 18400 (in version 3, configurable) or port 18200 (in version 2).

The central database storing all user, category, time entry and other information is installed on the server computer and accessed automatically through the Windows service application using commands sent to it by the client computers, such as “save this time entry”, “list all time entries on this date for this user”, and so on.

Note: If you use a firewall computer or firewall software on the server please ensure that you allow the server to accept TCP/IP connections on the TCP port listed above and allow clients to connect to the server using this port.

How Do I Migrate Server Computers in Complete Time Tracking Professional?

How Do I Upgrade to a New Version?

See the Upgrade Guide.

How Many Users Does Complete Time Tracking Support?

In the Professional edition there is no limit to the number of user accounts that you can create (a license is required for each user). Version 3  supports thousands of simultaneous users on a single server computer when using the temporary database connections feature and is limited only by the server hardware. In version 2, and in version 3 using permanent database connections, a single server supports up to 500 simultaneous users. You can have as many servers as needed, servicing different physical or logical sections within the organization. The number of active connections and server memory usage are displayed in the Server Mananger tool.

In the Standard edition an unlimited number of users is supported as each has their own local database. The multi-user features such as security access restriction, shared categories and tags and aggregate reports are not available however as there is no central server.

Are There Any Restrictions to the Number of Categories or Time Entries?

There are no practical limits to the number of time entries but there is a practical limit of around 100,000 categories (you can have more but reports may take a few minutes to run). The theoretical limits are 2 billion time entries and categories and a maximum database size of 64 Terabytes of data (and at approximately 1 Megabyte per user per year that’s a lot of users and a lot of years!).

How Can I Change the Format of the Time Durations When Exporting Report Data?

You can change the time duration format from the program options. Select Menu, Tools, Options, Display.

What is the Default System Administrator Password in the Professional Edition?

The system administrator login has the following default details:

User Name: admin Password: admin (case sensitive)

We highly recommend that you change the administrator password upon first login and on a periodical basis.

I Get An Error Message Saying Your Clock Appears to Have Been Set Back

This is a protection mechanism against a common trick which works with some time-limited software (such as the 30-day trial offered in Complete Time Tracking) where a user attempts to set the clock back to avoid reaching the end of the period. The error can sometimes be triggered if adjustments are made to your computers clock.

If you would like to extend your trial period you can simply request a trial period extension from us.

If you legitimately changed your clock or you are not sure why you received this error then please request a clock check fix from us.

How Can I Move Complete Time Tracking Standard To A New Computer

Changing computers is quite simple.

  1. On the old computer select Backup from the File menu in Complete Time Tracking Standard. Copy the backup file to the new computer.
  2. Download and install Complete Time Tracking Standard on the new computer. When started enter the license key that was issued to you when you purchased Complete Time Tracking Standard. Note: The license key is for a specific version of Complete Time Tracking Standard. You must download and install the correct version purchased, or purchase an upgrade license (at a discounted price) and download and install the latest version.
  3. On the new computer select Restore from the File menu in Complete Time Tracking Standard. Open the backup file copied from the old computer.
  4. Close and uninstall Complete Time Tracking Standard on the old computer.

Some Time Entries Are Missing!

There are a few possibilites:

  • If using the Search function in the Edit Time Entries window check that the notes and tags fields are blank or entered correctly.
  • The time entries were moved to a different category, date or user (Pro). Check the selected category, date and user (Pro) in the Edit Time Entries or Reports window. Try selecting ALL categories and ALL users (Pro) and use the Search function with a wider date range to locate the time entry.
  • The category that the time entry was recorded against has been marked as hidden. Select the “Show hidden categories” option in the Edit Time Entries or Reports window.
  • (Pro) The user that the time entry was recorded against has been marked as inactive. Select the “Show inactive users” option in the Edit Time Entries or Reports window.
  • The time entries were deleted.