Server Migration Instructions

Preparation

The migration process is quite simple but you should read through the following steps and allow sufficient time to perform them. If possible, schedule the migration for a time when users do not require use of Complete Time Tracking to minimize interruption. Inform users of the time of the migration and if they are using the offline time tracking feature (Work Offline mode) it is highly recommended that they sync and change to online mode prior to the migration, as any changes made offline since the last sync will be lost (users will be notified the next time that they attempt to sync and will have the opportunity to export data or print reports to assist with data re-entry).

Step 1 – Backup Databases on Old Server

Make a backup of your time tracking database(s) on the old server. Run the Server Manager tool from the Complete Time Tracking Pro Server program group on the old server. Select the first database on the Databases tab and click the Backup button. Save the backup file to a known location, including the database name in the file name to make it easier to identify the file. Repeat for each additional database listed on the Databases tab. Copy the backup file(s) to the new server.

We recommend disabling the Complete Time Tracking database server after the backup to avoid users adding time entries or making changes that won’t be migrated. On the Server tab in the Server Manager tool click the Stop button to disable the database server.

Step 2 – Install and Prepare New Server

Download the Complete Time Tracking Server installation program from the Download page and run it on the new server. This requires administrator privileges. Follow the steps to complete the installation. Make note of the name and IP addresses of the new server when they are displayed during the installation as all users will need to enter this name or IP address when logging in to the new server.

Delete the default empty database that was installed on the new server. Run the Server Manager tool from the Complete Time Tracking Pro Server program group on the new server. Select the default database on the Databases tab and click the Delete button and confirm when prompted.

Step 3 – Restore Backup on New Server

Run the Server Manager tool from the Complete Time Tracking Pro Server program group on the new server. On the Databases tab click the Restore button. Select the first backup file copied in Step 1 and click Open. Repeat for each additional backup file.

If you installed a newer version of Complete Time Tracking on the new server the restore process will upgrade the database if necessary. You might briefly see an upgrade progress window and on some larger databases this may take several minutes. Newer versions of the Server software sometimes require newer versions of the Client software. Users will be informed of this when logging in to the new server for the first time (and you will likely discover this in Step 4).

Step 4 – Test The Migration

From one of the user client computers start Complete Time Tracking. If the user previously selected to remember their password you may see an error message that a connection to the old server was unsuccessful – dismiss the error message. On the login window enter the name or IP address of the new server computer as recorded in Step 2 (name is preferred if it is meaningful and stable) and log in using a known username and password.

If you are informed that a newer version of the client software is required then you will need to download the new version of the Complete Time Tracking Professional Client software and install it on all user computers. Close Complete Time Tracking on the computers and run the Client installation program and install it over the top of the existing installation.

Once logged in check that the categories and time entries (and users, if logging in as admin or a user with access to user configuration) are present as expected.

You can now inform users that the migration is complete and that they should use the new server name or IP address when logging in. On newer versions of Complete Time Tracking Professional you can copy and paste the login link into a HTML formatted email that users can simply click to automatically enter the new server details.

Step 5 – Retire Old Server

To prevent users accidentally using the old server you should uninstall the Complete Time Tracking Professional Server software from the old server. On the old server open the Windows Control Panel, select Programs and Features (Windows Vista and later) or Add or Remove Programs (Windows XP and earlier). Select Complete Time Tracking Pro Server, and click Uninstall or Change/Remove. Follow the steps presented to uninstall the program.